2016 USL Alignment and Format Announced

2016 USL Alignment and Format Announced

TAMPA, Fla. – The United Soccer League today announced the alignment, regular season and playoff format for the 2016 USL Season, with 29 teams set to compete in the league’s sixth season in pursuit of the USL Cup.


Six new teams will join the USL in 2016, as Bethlehem Steel FC, FC Cincinnati, Orlando City B, Rio Grande Valley FC, the Swope Park Rangers and San Antonio are all set to compete in the new season.


The USL will continue in a two-conference format, with 14 teams making up the Eastern Conference and 15 teams making up the Western Conference. The 30-game regular season will be conducted over 27 weeks, which will kick off on March 25 and conclude on September 25.


Eastern Conference

Bethlehem Steel FC

Charleston Battery

Charlotte Independence

FC Cincinnati  

Harrisburg City Islanders

Louisville City FC

FC Montreal

New York Red Bulls II

Orlando City B

Pittsburgh Riverhounds

Richmond Kickers

Rochester Rhinos

Toronto FC II

Wilmington Hammerheads FC                                        

Western Conference

Arizona United SC

Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC

LA Galaxy II

OKC Energy FC

Orange County Blues FC

Portland Timbers 2

Real Monarchs SLC

Rio Grande Valley FC

Sacramento Republic FC

Saint Louis FC

San Antonio

Seattle Sounders FC 2

Swope Park Rangers

Tulsa Roughnecks FC

Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2


The team with the best record across both conferences will earn the 2016 USL Regular Season Title. The top eight teams in each conference will then advance to the 2016 USL Playoffs, which will see a single-elimination bracket crown two conference champions. The two conference champions will advance to the 2016 USL Championship, to be hosted by the conference champion with the better regular-season record.